Getting serious with lighting food photography

I shoot my food photos without preparing the lighting and camera setup so they’re hurriedly done so the food does not get too cold to enjoy. My food photographs merely document food I prepared at home of which I am especially proud. They have never been taken for the sake of taking a good food photograph. I’m too much a Filipino to think of preparing food then wasting it by simply trashing it after taking its picture. I’ve known all along that this is no way to take a picture. I know. I’m such a coward, slave to irrational beliefs, but then who isn’t?

Nonetheless, if I want to progress with my photography I need to invest real time in learning the craft and shooting my pictures. I’ve come a respectable way with model photographs though even here I’ve learned on the fly, from actually shooting models. I should learn the techniques when I don’t have models to work with professionally. The information is easily accessible. I have shelves of books and, horrors! hardware that I have not read or learned to use.

This photo might be a milestone. I was famished coming home from the gym after my gym run was delayed by an appointment with the heater service people that I had forgotten until the dispatcher called to tell me the service guy was on his way. I brought out the ingredients for the shake then set up the lighting before shaking them together. The results, I think, are impressive.

This was the second time that I’ve used my commercial-strength Vita-Mixer in decades! On a lark I made my first shake with it yesterday when I found out that my Cuisinart blender was no longer operative. I must have damaged it from crushing ice and frozen fruit last year when I was preparing dinner for friends. Down came the Vita-Mixer from atop the fridge and the result was such a delight that I rediscovered why people love shakes made with whey protein. The shake is frothy and rich-tasting without the fat!

I took this picture with a Lowel Pro set at full power five inches from the glass, manually setting the Canon D7 at 2.8 and 70 mm.

Leave a Reply

